OUR ENGAGEMENT

Our Mission

For the last 15 years, we have been proud designers and manufacturers of eco-friendly fashion for men and women in Canada.

Our mission is to dress, nourish our souls, and protect our planet.

Through our ethical and conscious clothing, we want to touch people in their daily lives and remind them that together we can make a difference.

Our product is Canadian by conviction. Our commitment to sustainability, and to the community inspires us to always improve and find innovative ways of doing business. By being transparent about our practices, our challenges, our choices of organic or recycled materials, and the cost of our products, you will be able to understand the identity of our products.

The spirit of MESSAGE FACTORY and OÖM ÉTHIKWEAR collections is based on the respect of the environment and our community. We believe in local manufacturing that inspires kindness and respect in all aspects of life. Guiding all generations to adopt a socially and ecologically responsible lifestyle is our motivation.

MANUFACTURED IN FAIR AND EQUITABLE WORKING CONDITIONS,
WE OFFER QUALITY CLOTHING IN A CLIMATE OF TRANSPARENCY.

MADE IN CANADA

All Message Factory and Oöm Éthikwear garments are designed, cut, and made by responsible manufacturing partners located in Quebec. If we can't make it here, we won't create it. Manufacturing in Canada allows us to keep a close eye on quality and to work closely with our local partners at each stage of the production process. It may seem odd to you, but we visit all of our manufacturers. Most mass clothing brands never see the inside of their factories. Far from the practices of Fast Fashion, we know exactly who made each piece of garment.

Learn more

FAIR WORKING CONDITIONS

Buying locally-made clothing stimulates the economy and creates jobs for your neighbors, friends, or family. It also assures you that the workers who made your clothes have safe working conditions, fair wages and that they are treated equally. Although these rights may seem fundamental, they are simply not guaranteed in many of the countries where clothing is made today.

Learn more

LOWER CARBON FOOTPRINT

Garment production accounts for 70% of the fashion industry's overall carbon footprint, and Fast Fashion emits 1.2 trillion tonnes of CO2 per year. These emissions come from production facilities, transportation, and shipping methods, as well as environmental impacts related to raw materials. The most significant sources of waste related to fashion are textile waste at the production stage and the surplus clothing produced. The more we manufacture, the more we pollute, and the more we have to find solutions to dispose of surpluses.

Learn more

1% TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE

We are in the era of greenwashing. It becomes difficult for the consumer to understand and differentiate what is significant and what is a "green" marketing cover-up. At MESSAGE FACTORY and OÖM ETHIKWEAR, we do not surf a wave. We are the wave, the sea, the ocean, all at once. For this reason, we are proud to donate 1% of our sales to local organizations that make a difference for our community and the planet.

We’re not perfect, but we always strive to do better. Not to seduce you, but simply because it is essential to us. We hope you will join us in our mission to make a difference! We want to inspire you to also make small gestures. Because our actions added to yours can make all the difference.

SMALL ACTIONS MULTIPLIED BY MILLIONS OF PEOPLE CAN TRANSFORM THE WORLD!

 

EVERY LITTLE STEP MATTERS

Americans alone throw away 14 million tonnes of textiles a year, and, in Canada, textile waste accounts for 8 to 12% of landfills waste. At Message Factory we do not waste fabrics. We do some upcycling to recuperate and sew new products from scrap fabric. Also, in our store in St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, we take back any item of clothing that you wish to part with to give them a second life.

Even though we offer a wide range of new eco-friendly clothing, we recognize that the most ethical option for the survival of the planet is the clothing you already own. We are committed as a Canadian clothing company to offer the most eco-friendly product there is. As a consumer, we ask you to review your needs, recuperate, transform, donate or sell your used clothing.

“BUY LESS, CHOOSE WELL, MAKE IT LAST” - VIVIENNE WESTWOOD

BIOGRAPHY

It all started in 2005! At the time, Julie Rochefort, the founder of Message Factory, was already dreaming of changing the world. Dressing bodies and nourishing the soul seemed to her to be her best talents to be exploited to achieve this. She then designed her first inspirational messages, which then were printed on organic cotton t-shirts. Message Factory was born!

The same year, Oöm Ethikwear came to life. The company had an equally modest but no less promising start. Oöm made his debut in Montreal fashion by printing its first positive message on fifty t-shirts: We all have a dream. It was enough to mark the start of a great adventure in Quebec fashion!

During the 10 years which followed their creation, Message Factory and Oöm Éthikwear swim against the current with their social conscience, their local production, and their organic clothing. Each on their side, they accepted no compromise to build authentic, ethical, and inspiring fashion. Despite the growth of Fast Fashion, they wanted to demonstrate that it’s was possible to buy locally, at a competitive price, a quality product, made here.

This quest finally led them to join forces in 2015. Message Factory then acquired Oöm Éthikwear. This acquisition allowed Message Factory to make ethical fashion even more accessible.

Today, the two collections are imagined in our Old St-Jean workshops. They are produced locally and ethically throughout Quebec. Recognized for its timeless cuts, the Message Factory brand combines unique prints and relaxed femininity, while Oöm Éthikwear offers consumers urban and committed clothing.

Our latest collections are available in over a hundred retailers across Canada and the United States, as well as through our online store.

Ensemble, nous pouvons faire une différence

Depuis 15 ans, nous sommes fiers d’être designers et fabricants québécois de mode écoresponsable pour hommes et femmes.

Nous vêtir, nourrir notre âme et protéger notre planète est notre mission.

À travers nos vêtements éthiques et engagés, nous désirons toucher les gens dans leur vie quotidienne et leur rappeler qu’ensemble, nous pouvons faire une différence.

ÉCORESPONSABLE. POUR VRAI.

Notre produit est québécois par conviction. Notre engagement envers la durabilité, la communauté et faire le bien nous inspire à vouloir toujours s’améliorer et à trouver des façons novatrices de faire. En faisant preuve de transparence sur nos pratiques, nos défis, nos choix de matières biologiques ou recyclés et le coût de nos produits, vous êtes en mesure de comprendre l’identité de nos produits.

L’esprit de nos collections MESSAGE FACTORY et OÖM ÉTHIKWEAR repose sur le respect de l’environnement et de notre communauté. Nous croyons en la création et la fabrication locale de vêtements qui inspirent la bonté et le respect dans tous les aspects de la vie. Guider toutes les générations à adopter un style de vie socialement et écologiquement responsable est notre motivation.

FABRIQUÉS DANS DES CONDITIONS DE TRAVAIL JUSTES ET ÉQUITABLES,
NOUS PROPOSONS DES VÊTEMENTS DE QUALITÉ DANS UN CLIMAT DE TRANSPARENCE.

Fabriqué chez nous

Nos produits sont conçus, coupés, imprimés, brodés et cousus chez-nous au Québec, Canada. Fabriqués dans des conditions de travail justes et équitables, nous proposons des vêtements de qualité que vous serez fiers de porter!

En savoir plus

Se vêtir de conscience

Nous créons des vêtements écoresponsables qui correspondent à votre style de vie et à vos valeurs, sans compromis. Afin de limiter notre empreinte carbone, nous utilisons strictement des tissus biologiques ou recyclés. Nous habiller, nourrir notre âme et protéger notre planète est notre mission.

En savoir plus

Au nom de la planète

La planète est notre maison et vouloir la protéger fait partie de notre ADN. Nous remettons 1% de nos ventes à des organismes qui font une différence pour notre communauté et pour la survie de la planète.

En savoir plus

1% POUR FAIRE UNE DIFFÉRENCE

Chez MESSAGE FACTORY et OÖM ETHIKWEAR nous ne surfons pas la vague de l’écoblanchiment, nous sommes à la fois la vague, la mer, l’océan et nous aspirons à devenir la petite goutte qui fera déborder le vase. La planète est notre maison et vouloir la protéger fait partie de notre ADN. C’est pour cette raison que nous remettons 1% de nos ventes à des organismes locaux qui font une différence pour la planète et pour notre communauté.

Nous ne sommes pas parfaits, mais nous cherchons toujours à faire mieux. Non pas pour vous séduire, mais simplement parce que c’est vraiment important pour nous. Nous avons l'espoir de vous impliquer dans notre quête. Nous désirons vous donner envie de faire de petits gestes. Parce que nos petits gestes additionnés aux vôtres peuvent faire toute la différence.

DES PETITES ACTIONS MULTIPLIÉES PAR DES MILLIONS DE PERSONNES PEUVENT TRANSFORMER LE MONDE!

 

DES PETITS GESTES QUI COMPTENT

Les Américains à eux seuls jettent 14 millions de tonnes de textiles par an et au Canada, les déchets de textile représentent 8 à 12 % du contenu des sites d'enfouissements. Chez Message Factory pas question de gaspiller de tissus. Nous utilisons le principe du upcycling pour récupérer, et fabriquer à partir de ses retailles de tissus, de nouveaux produits. Nous reprenons également à notre boutique de St-Jean-sur-Richelieu tout vêtement dont vous désirez vous départir pour leur donner un 2ème souffle.

Même si nous proposons une gamme de vêtements écoresponsables neufs, nous sommes conscients que l’option la plus éthique pour la survie de la planète est le vêtement que vous possédez déjà. Nous nous engageons comme designer de vêtements québécois à vous offrir le produit le plus écoresponsable qui soit, et comme consommateur, nous vous prions de revoir vos besoins, de récupérer, de transformer, de donner ou de vendre vos vêtements usagés.

“ACHETEZ MOINS, CHOISISSEZ MIEUX, FAITES DURER” - VIVIENNE WESTWOOD

NOTRE HISTOIRE

C’est en 2005 que tout a commencé! À l’époque, Julie Rochefort, la fondatrice de Message Factory, rêve déjà de changer le monde. Vêtir le corps et nourrir l’âme lui apparaissent comme ses meilleurs talents à exploiter pour y parvenir. Elle dessine alors ses premiers messages inspirants qui seront imprimés sur des t-shirts en coton biologique. Message Factory est née!

Oöm Éthikwear voit le jour durant la même année. L’entreprise connaît des débuts tout aussi modestes, mais non moins prometteurs. Oöm fait ses débuts au sein de la mode montréalaise en imprimant un premier message positif sur une cinquantaine de t-shirts : We all have a dream. Il n'en fallait pas davantage pour marquer le début d’une grande aventure dans la mode québécoise!

Durant les 10 années qui ont suivi leur création, Message Factory et Oöm Éthikwear nagent à contre courant avec leur conscience sociale, leur production locale et leurs vêtements biologiques. Chacun de leur côté, ils n'acceptent aucun compromis pour bâtir une mode authentique, éthique et inspirante. Malgré la place imposante que prend la Fast Fashion, ils désirent démontrer qu’il est possible d'acheter localement, à prix concurrentiel, un produit de qualité, fait ici.

Cette quête les a finalement menés à joindre leurs forces en 2015. Message Factory se porte alors acquéreur de Oöm Éthikwear. Cette acquisition permettra à Message Factory de rendre la mode éthique encore plus accessible.

Aujourd’hui, les deux collections sont imaginées dans nos ateliers du Vieux St-Jean. Elles sont produites localement et éthiquement partout au Québec. Reconnue pour ses coupes intemporelles, la marque Message Factory allie imprimés uniques et féminité décontractée, tandis que Oöm Éthikwear proposent aux consom’acteurs des vêtements urbains et engagés.

Nos plus récentes collections sont disponibles chez plus d’une centaine de détaillants situés au Canada et aux États-Unis ainsi que sur notre boutique en ligne.